The Principal's Principles

A Middle School Principal, striving to make the world a better place, one day at a time.

A Role Reversal

The post I wrote as a companion piece to the work of teacher extraordinaire Pernille Ripp on closing the gap between administators and teachers yesterday was still on my mind this morning when I picked up my newspaper. I saw something in the sports section that may hold promise for some tangible next steps. 

The NBA is in the midst of summer league play. It’s commonplace for the head coach of the team to attend and watch the prospects that are playing, but, the teams are coached by assistant coaches, many who have no head coaching experience. For these coaches, it’s the chance to grow and learn what it means to be the head coach of an NBA team. 

Where are there programs in our schools where teacher leaders can step out and serve as administrators? Are there programs, that do not totally disrupt summer vacations, where teachers can take on roles to see what it’s like to be an administrator, while still retaining their role as classroom teachers? How can we appeal to a wide variety of teachers, beyond those with administrative ambitions AND, where can principals pick up some responsibilities from these teachers leading the program to create the time? 

There’s potential here to not only develop leaders but also to close a gap and help our groups understand one another better. 

If you’re interested, here’s the article from this morning’s paper. 

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “A Role Reversal

  1. Loved your post yesterday, and I like this idea as well! I spent seven years as a classroom teacher before becoming an administrator. It’s a very different experience, and I don’t think many people understand both sides. The hardest part (in my opinion) was that I had to keep so many things secret as an administrator. I might have known both sides of the story, but that didn’t always mean I was at liberty to discuss them.

    I would love to see a graphic when you do a blog post. Right now if I pin to Pinterest your picture shows up (which is fine), but I think a post with the topic would get better traffic to your sight. Your information is definitely worth sharing! Just some food for thought…

    Keep sharing! I enjoy reading it!
    ~Heather aka HoJo~

    • Hi There!

      First, thanks for the response. I agree, one of the toughest parts of the job are the moments where something is shared in confidence and assumptions are made you know not to be true.

      I’m appreciative of your graphic idea – can you give me an idea on how to do that?

      Also grateful for the compliment, please keep reading,
      John

Leave a Reply

