The Principal's Principles

A Middle School Principal, striving to make the world a better place, one day at a time.

Youthful Enthusiasm

Yesterday, I sat in a session at EdcampLO about literacy. As the conversation moved around the room, one person commented “I need conversations like this because I’m a first year teacher and I need to learn as much as I can.” This statement resonated with me and reminded me of how I felt at the start of my career, each day really was a chance to grow and learn something new. 

Moments later, another participant in the conversation responded to the new teacher with the comment “I’m a veteran teacher, and I need to learn as badly as you do.” Her response made me take stock of my own dedication to my professional learning now that I too have become a veteran of our profession. 

The fact is, I am still as driven to learn as I was when I was a new teacher. However, I will admit there are days when “Mr. Bernia, the first year teacher,” approached his work with more energy and enthusiasm than “Mr. Bernia, the 12 year veteran” does. 

This week, my goal is to find that postiive energy and enthusiasm every day. Optimism is contagious, and is needed right now as we approach our second of six weeks of M-STEP testing and the spring has sprung at our middle school. 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

