The Principal's Principles

A Middle School Principal, striving to make the world a better place, one day at a time.

A Lesson From My Mentor: It is Always the Right Time to do the Right Thing

One of my mentors is a successful building principal. From my experiences working with him, my biggest takeaway is:

It’s always the right time to do the right thing.

There are countless moments where it would be easy to ignore something that is happening in our school to avoid a conflict, or to tell a small white lie to avoid a confrontation. My mentor taught me, through actions, that our role is to speak up when something is not acceptable for our school. When you make an error, apologize. Above all, when your inner voice says “not ok,” it’s time to be honest and to take action.

Note: This post is one in a series about key leadership lessons I have learned from my mentors. As I took time over the holidays to reflect on my work, the key relationships I have built and those who have made time to help me in my leadership journey were central to so much of what I do as a principal. My goal in publishing these lessons is to share my own reflections, celebrate my mentors (who will remain anonymous), and to encourage readers to thank their own mentors, or find new people to help them in their own professional journey. By no means am I a finished product, to those who mentor me, I thank you and ask that you continue to help me grow.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

