The Principal's Principles

A Middle School Principal, striving to make the world a better place, one day at a time.

Get Involved!

In an attempt to contribute to our profession, this summer I have worked on several projects. I hope those of you who take the time to read “The Principal’s Principles” will take me up on the offer to get involved with some of the work I’ve been doing with some friends of mine.

Stephanie Dulmage and I have been hard at work getting organized for the second EdcampOU, on the campus of Oakland University. Registration is open, I hope you can join us for an event that includes pre-service teachers, student teachers, and practicing educators.

I’ve also been working with Anthony Stamm and BJ McCabe on AdmincampMI, to be held this fall at Berkley High School. Registration for this event is also open, it will be a great chance for building leaders to get together and talk about our work.

In case you missed it, I had a post about why edcamps are powerful PD.

Derek McCoy, Bill Burkhead, and I have been putting in some overtime on our Twitter chat, #edfocus. We’re very excited to host Daniel Pink, author of A Whole New Mind, Drive, and To Sell is Human on August 27, at 7:00 pm EST for a chat.

One of my mentors, Dan Hickey and I, are collaborating on a Twitter chat coming your way this fall. #hlgchat will focus on school leadership, and as we like to say “the work.” More details to come.

I also had a post about the power of Twitter, and how it will enhance your PD.

Dru Tomlin, a big thinker from the Association for Middle Level Education, has provided me with some invaluable assistance as I prepared for our school year. I’d highly recommend connecting with him on Twitter at #mschat (hosted by Todd Bloch) or through the AMLE website.

For me, it has been a big summer of professional growth, and promises to be an exciting fall. I hope to see you at an edcamp or on Twitter!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Get Involved!

  1. Jennie Snyder on said:

    Thank you for your leadership, John! You are doing great work!

Leave a Reply

