The Principal's Principles

A Middle School Principal, striving to make the world a better place, one day at a time.

An open letter to Mr. Kast’s class

To the 100 students enrolled in Mr. Kast’s ELA classes, Mr. Kast, Mrs. Saleski, and Mrs. Fuller,

I wanted to take a few moments to thank you for welcoming me into your class recently to talk about the power of social media, specifically, expressing your ideas on a blog. I thank you for taking the time to listen to my thoughts, asking good questions, and for your hard work. I left your classes that day feeling very optimistic because of the positive energy I saw in your groups; I am very excited to read the posts you wrote. Your work is taking student book reviews to a new level.

I have a belief that if educators find ways to provide opportunities for students to have the freedom to create something meaningful, that the results will be amazing. I thank Mr. Kast, Mrs. Saleski, and Mrs. Fuller for their dedication to “be creative” and develop an assignment that will allow all of you, through the power of the technology, to become published authors. They are leading the way in our school district on making Reader’s Workshop digital.

While I was with you, I spoke about my opportunity to be the guest blogger for the Center for Teaching Quality. My work appeared on their blog last Friday. I’m hopeful that after you read it that you’re proud of my effort and that in your opinion, I have represented our school well.

I’m very inspired by the efforts you are making, a central reason for this letter. I chose to post this on my blog to share with the world just how much is possible when we give students the autonomy to complete meaningful work using technology. I’m very proud of you, keep up the great work.

My Very Best to You,

Mr. Bernia

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “An open letter to Mr. Kast’s class

  1. Mr. Bernia

    After reading your post I felt just like I was in that class listening to you speak to the students about technology. Sounds like the students enjoyed you and have had a great time being there. Its a great thing to be empowered to inspire people and after reading some of your blog post you have a great talent. I want to be the kind of teacher that inspires students to stay in school and want to be a teacher. My edm310 class has challenged me more then I could ever imagine. It was great reading you blogs and I have subscribed to your page so I look forward to reading many more.
    http://lettcedricedm310.blogspot.com/

  2. Pingback: MAMSE 2012, The Case for Twitter « The Principal's Principles

Leave a Reply

